top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Cuartas

Weekly Thoughts (June 14,2020)

Updated: Jul 11, 2020

June 14, 2020


Dear Reader,


Today is Sunday, June 14th, 2020, and this on my mind. The beginning of the month started out rough with the horrible death of George Floyd and the spread of Black Lives Matter Movement throughout the country and the world to seek justice for him and many others who faced police brutality. For a week, my social media feed and the news was filled with images of protesters marching the streets with homemade signs, cities in flames and overall frustration that racism is still something up to debate. I couldn't sleep well for days and my anxiety levels were off the roof. I felt helpless and upset from what I saw and read. Did I go back in time? How can this be real?!


Although I consider myself a very progressive person, I made the time to reflect on what I could do to make a difference. I used this time to educate myself and my parents about the matter of police brutality and profiling. As a first generation Latino American in my family, I feel like it is my duty to inform my parents about things that may not be addressed in Spanish news networks like Telemundo or Univision and the realty that as minorities in this country we are also targeted as criminals. I cannot even imagine the pain and anger that Black people feel on a day to day basis. They are seen as a threat just based of their appearance. For progress in the United States and all over the world to happen we have to be allies. It’s not their problem, it’s a human rights problem that has been neglected for centuries! Although, I didn’t protest the streets out of fear that it will quickly escalate and the spread of Covid-19. I did donate to George Floyd’s Memorial Fund and watched Youtubers that used their AD-Sense earnings towards organizations relating to the Black Lives Matter Movement.



As social media feeds begin to go back to normal and news networks start to talk about Covid 19 again, it’s important to remain informed about the cases. Please continue to show support like protesting, donating, signing petitions, emailing politicians and of course vote this year. Black Lives Matter shouldn't be seen as a trend or a hashtag but the start of a movement to change laws and society.

Photo sourced from NJ.com


Places that are accepting Donations


Information sourced by Instagram account @stepheseemsok


With that being said, this Monday was my Birthday and it was nice way to escape reality for a bit as I celebrated with my close friends in my backyard. Many of them who I haven't spoken to or seen in months! I made a delicious steak and fries brunch for all of us similar to our favorite brunch spot in New York City that we miss so much. Later, we all had a fun time in my above the ground pool and it felt like old times. Sadly because of the protests, states mandated curfews so my friends had to leave early. Although time seemed to go by too fast, I'm so grateful for my family and friends' support and their love.



8 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page