top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Cuartas

Why try Thrift Shopping?

For the most part, my blog is composed of one consistent theme which is being an advocate for thrifting. But I have never clarified reasons why you should step into a thrift store near you and try it out if you haven’t. I’ve heard all excuses why people lean away from the idea of going thrifting. “They sell heavily used clothes” “Clothes are outdated,” “It’s dirty” “Most clothes found in Thrift stores are ugly,” “It’s too messy to find anything there”

But here’s my response, to these concerns that I hope will eliminate the negative connotations of thrifting.


1.“They sell heavily used clothes”

Yes, thrift stores sell used clothes. Many people also donate clothes that no longer fit them, never wear, or couldn’t return. Thrift stores do carry lightly-used or never wore clothes with tags. One of my favorite finds at the thrift store are a pair of used Prada leather black boots with a few scuffs that were easy to fix! Don’t let the word “used” keep you away from the potential you may find.


2.“Clothes are outdated”

Yes, many clothes there are out of style. There are many things I pick up from the racks and simply laugh at the idea that someone actually wore them before. But like everything, fashion and the latest trends are always changing and style is subjective. Choose what you like. What I love about thrifting is that you find items that aren’t sold in stores because it’s not trending in the market. Be different. P.S. Retro right now is so in!


3.“It’s dirty”

Everything that I have purchased from the thrift store is washed soon after. I don’t know where its been and who worn it so it’s better to stay safe and wash it with warm to hot water to rid of whatever its been through. All clothes should be washed before being worn no matter where you bought them. Fast Fashion goes through several processes and steps that you may not even think about before it makes it to stores. Even in traditional retail stores, customers try on, drop, and step on clothes before we purchase them. (Speaking from my experience in retail) Always wash your clothes before you wear!


4.“Most clothes in thrift stores are ugly”

Yes and no. Don’t blame the retailer for selling clothes that you may find ugly. Instead, blame the taste of consumers who buy the clothes. Style like I said before is subjective. I think we’ve all bought clothes from regular retailers that people have found distasteful. Buy what you like, thrift stores are full of unique silhouettes and patterns that regular retailers may not hold and yes others may find ugly.


5.“It’s too messy to find anything there”

That’s the exciting part of thrifting. Finding pieces that grasps your attention without planning it. You must go open-mindedly of what you can find there and the many ways you can modify. Do it yourself (DIY) projects are so much fun! Can’t find denim shorts in the middle of winter for a tropical vacation coming up? Check out the denim section at your local thrift store and find a great pair that you can simply cut and make as shorts. All my favorite high-waisted shorts are from the thrift store!

Also, what helps me is making a list of things that I want to find. It makes it easier for me to pick up things that I actually need.


6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page